Skip to content

Twelve Okaloosa County Schools Designated as “Schools of Excellence” by the Florida Department of Ed

On Friday, March 29, 2024, ten Okaloosa County District Schools, along with two charter schools, were designated by the Florida Department of Education as “Schools of Excellence” for the 2022-2023 academic year. The Schools of Excellence program was established by the Florida Legislature in 2017 under HB 7069 to recognize and reward Florida’s highest-performing schools. The program aims to promote continuous improvement and provide administrative flexibility to the state’s top schools so they can maintain the highest quality education for students.
Superintendent Marcus Chambers stated, “This prestigious recognition is awarded to schools that have consistently ranked in the 80th percentile or higher for at least two of the last three school years based on their school grade calculation. I want to extend my heartfelt congratulations to the students, teachers, staff, and administrators who have all contributed to this remarkable accomplishment!”
Schools of Excellence:
- Destin Elementary
- Edge Elementary
- Eglin Elementary
- Florosa Elementary
- Plew Elementary
- Bluewater Elementary
- Northwest Florida Ballet Academie
- Ruckel Middle School
- Okaloosa STEMM Academy
- Niceville High School
- Liza Jackson Preparatory School *Charter School*
- Collegiate High School at Northwest Florida State College *Charter School*

Scroll To Top