Skip to content

NWFSC's Foundation Hosts Annual Reception

The Northwest Florida State College (NWFSC) Foundation held its Annual Board Installation and Recognition Reception on Thursday, August 25, 2022, to recognize new Foundation officers and directors, thank past directors, and highlight some of its many accomplishments within the last year. 

Past Foundation Chair, Ken Wampler, was introduced by Foundation Board member Alan Wood and recognized for his five years of service to the organization, where he served as treasurer and chair. Wampler is the president of Newman-Dailey, has served on the Okaloosa County Tourist Development Council, and is past chairman of the Destin Chamber, where he served nine years on the Board of Directors.

In his remarks, Wampler recognized the Foundation’s three outgoing board members: Marek Bakun, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for the St. Joe Company; Ashley Rogers, Dunlap & Shipman; and Steve Wolfrom.

Wampler also presented J.D. Peacock with the Chairman’s Award. This award is given to Foundation Board members who have led by example and positively enhanced the organization. Peacock served six years on the Foundation Board as treasurer, vice chair, and chair. He is an alumnus of NWFSC, where he received an associate degree in Criminal Justice Technology in 2005 and returned to earn a bachelor’s degree in Public Service Management in 2009. Peacock has also served as the Clerk of Circuit Court and Comptroller, First Judicial Circuit, Okaloosa County, Florida, since 2014. Wampler noted that Peacock’s leadership throughout the last few years has been vital to the Foundation’s success.

Wampler closed his remarks by noting the Foundation closed its fiscal year having raised more than $1.3 million and received an additional $200,000 in bequests. The Foundation awarded more than $650,000 in scholarships and provided almost $1.3 million in financial support to the College to enhance the institution’s programs and services.  It also established 11 new endowments, creating 10 new scholarships and providing support for an additional program.

Wampler then introduced the new Foundation Chair, Dr. Bo Arnold. Arnold has served on the Foundation Board since 2016. Arnold thanked Wampler for his service as Chairman and presented him with a crystal gavel. 

Arnold introduced two new Foundation Board members: Teresa Halverson, Director of Business Development at the Manor at Bluewater Bay, and Retired Air Force Colonel Stan Siefke. He also recognized the 2022-2023 Executive Committee of the Foundation Board of Directors: Vice Chair Alan Wood, Treasurer Jonathan Ochs, Past Chair Ken Wampler, Secretary Chris Stowers, Executive Director and NWFSC President Dr. Devin Stephenson, and Trustee Liaison Don Litke. 
Arnold thanked all the directors for their dedication to the mission of the Foundation and their work in helping the students and academic programs of NWFSC.

Dr. Devin Stephenson closed the program by thanking the Foundation staff, Foundation Board Members, and College Trustees for their generous contributions and time spent advocating for the College. 

“The reason we serve is to directly support the College and its mission,” said Dr. Stephenson. “I cannot think of a better place to invest my time, talent, and treasure than this institution.”

For more information on Northwest Florida State College's Foundation, please contact Chris Stowers, Foundation Executive Director, at or 850-729-5357.

Scroll To Top