Skip to content

Kids Tag Art Award Winners

It was a full house at the Okaloosa County School Board meeting Monday evening as Tax Collector Ben Anderson and Sheriff Eric Aden presented certificates to the Award of Distinction winners of the Kids Tag Art Program. Along with Superintendent Marcus Chambers, Anderson and Aden recognized two winners from each participating school.

The Kids Tag Art program has two functions - one as an art contest for the 5th graders, and the other as a fundraiser that gives students a chance to design their own specialty license plate to use as art or on the front of a vehicle. As a fundraiser, those student-created, custom plates can be purchased by family members. Proceeds from school sales stay in that school.

This program is a partnership with the Tax Collector’s Office and the School District that started in 2013. In recent years, the Okaloosa County Sheriff’s Office has become a program sponsor given their Community Partnership with the School District in providing Resource Officers to schools in Okaloosa County for the safety and welfare of all students.

Combining in-school sales and local sponsorships, the Kids Tag Art program earned $18,124.00 this school year. Tax Collector Ben Anderson points out, “This is non-tax generated revenue and comes at a time when the art curriculum in schools could benefit the most.” He continues, “Each school that participated received checks via the Public Education Foundation for $800.00.” Since 2013 the Kids Tag Art program has generated $155,167 for school arts programs in Okaloosa County.

To be a sponsor, please contact Shari Flowers Bruns at 850-651-7669.

This year’s winners are below.

Claire Paiz
Elayna Feddon

Bob Sikes:
Karlie Sanchez
Anna Dickelman

Riley Sharpe
Gracelyn Perschke

Elliott Point:
Dallis Gallagher
Axel Palma

Sabine McBride
Parker Sims

Angelique Guzman
Stephanie Antunez Penaloza

Dasha Medvedeva
Lilyana Wight

Jayceon Gainer
Paris McQueen

Silver Sands:
Jacob Huggins
Charlotte Sullivan

Southside Primary:
Lailah Garcia

Joseph Avanetes
Blake Moyers

Tax Collector’s Choice – Ava Auter (Bluewater)
Sheriff’s Choice – Aayla Powell (Bob Sikes)
Superintendent’s Choice – Macy Phillips (Plew)

Scroll To Top